While there wasn't much information out there on this particular church, we had
to dig a bit deeper into it's past. We talked to a few of the members as well as leaders and discovered that they had brief
records of the past 100 years. Most of which were minutes. So we obtained a copy of that and have it in our files. Not
satisfied with our research to see if this church had ever housed the sick or dying we found ourselves at the hall of records
at the court house as well as the Historical Society. We did manage to find the original deed as well as names and dates.
The deed alone was intriguing. It was back in the time they actually wrote them out by hand. Also there was a map available
that we were able to get a copy of showing that the church not only owned the grounds that the church itself sits on but also
there is a piece of ground across the street that they never built anything on. It remains empty to this day. In our research
we discovered that there was a former pastor that lost his son in the war. A room stands dedicated in his memory. It remains
unclear if they ever used the church as a make-shift hospital at any time.
Buckingham - One of the orignal townships.
Buckingham Baptist Church, commonly known as the Starlight Baptist Church,
held their first covenant meeting on May 9, 1891. The church was first erected in 1894. Reverand A.P Merrill was the first
Current records go back to a May 7, 1891 "covenant" organizational meeting
from which the current Buckingham Baptist Church grew. It is this date they use as their beginning. The records
include a list of recognized members as of 1889, indicating that there were as many as thirty-eight members involved at this
The church grew steadily toward the twentieth-century.In 1893 the members,
while meeting in the school house, declined an invitation to return to the Kingsbury Hill Methodist Church and instead formed
a building committee. Trustees elected in October of 1893. The covenant meetings are silent as far as construction details,
but the August 11, 1894 minutes indicate that the members were "very thankful for their new house of worship - felt that
the Lord had blessed." It is the very same building that they worship in today.
Worship was not easy for the early church. Harsh winter weather cancelled services
for the deep winter months. Two wood stoves and kerosense lamps required a janitor. Transportation required a committee on
horse sheds in 1899.
In 1945 the trustees raised $168 for the installation of electrical lights..
The new Sunday school rooms were dedicated on April 1, 1973 and a plaque
in memory of Denny DuMond, purchased by the youth group, was placed in the new addition.